Select Page

Drew scores Bradman Medal as two tie for karen rolton medal

West Torrens all-rounder Daniel Drew won the 2016/17 Bradman Medal at the Premier Cricket awards night at Adelaide Oval.

There also was a tie for the Karen Rolton Medal, with Kensington’s Sarah Lowe and Port Adelaide’s Emma Sampson both receiving 16 votes.


Drew, 20, was rewarded for an outstanding season with both bat and ball for the West End First Grade (two-day) premiers, polling 28 votes. Next best was James Miller (23), from East Torrens.

The previous West Torrens player to win SACA grade cricket’s highest individual award was former Redbacks and Victoria opening batsman Paul Nobes in 1987/88.

Drew, who made a Futures League century for SA late in the season, scored 545 Grade runs at an average of 41.92 and took 14 wickets at 21.07.

Lowe captained Kensington to titles in the One-Day and T20 competitions this season. She took 12 wickets at an average of just 4.50 in the One-Day competition and also made 134 runs at 44.67.

Port’s Sampson took 10 wickets at 14.50 and also scored 104 runs at an average of 17.3.

This year also marked the first time that a Women’s Team of the Year was recognised, with SACA being one of the first state associations to pioneer this important initiative.

Sarah Lowe, Daniel Drew and Emma Sampson display their medals

Bradman Medal – Top 3
1. Daniel Drew (West Torrens) 28 votes
2. James Miller (East Torrens) 23 votes
=3. Nick Winter (Adelaide University) 22 votes
=3. Joshua Barrett (Southern District) 22 votes

Karen Rolton Medal – Top 3
=1. Sarah Lowe (Kensington) 16 votes
=1. Emma Sampson (Port Adelaide) 16 votes
2. Hannah Perry (Port Adelaide) 15 votes
=3. Eliza Doddridge (Kensington) 12 votes
=3. Alex Price (Sturt) 12 votes
=3. Amanda Wellington (Port Adelaide) 12 votes

Premier Cricket Men’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three-man panel:
Johnathon Dalton (Kensington), Connor McInerney (Woodville), Brendan McCormack (Southern District), Mark Cosgrove (Northern Districts – captain), Benjamin Bullimore (Glenelg), Daniel Drew (West Torrens), Harry Nielsen (Woodville – wicket-keeper), Nick Winter (Adelaide University), Akash Patel (Glenelg), Benjamin Williams (West Torrens), Adam Somerfield (Tea Tree Gully), Phillip Neate (Adelaide).

Men’s Coach of the Year – Mark Harrity (West Torrens)

Premier Cricket Women’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three- man panel:
Angela Treloar (West Torrens), Eliza Doddridge (Kensington), Ellen Falconer (West Torrens), Amanda Wellington (Port Adelaide), Lauren Ebsary (West Torrens), Alex Price (Sturt), Brooke Harris (West Torrens), Hannah Perry (Port Adelaide), Sarah Lowe (Kensington – captain), Emma Sampson (Port Adelaide), Stacey Oates (Sturt), Sarah-Jane Jameson (Kensington).

Women’s Coach of the Year  Darius Wyatt (Sturt)

Fred Godson Medal (West End One Day Cup Player of the Series) – Harry Nielsen (Woodville)

Darren Lehmann Medal (West End Twenty20 Cup Player of the Series) – Bradley Davis (Sturt)

CW Walker Memorial Trophy (Most Outstanding Wicket-keeper) – Leigh Drennan (West Torrens)

Talbot Smith Fielding Trophy – James Miller (East Torrens)

Jason Gillespie Medal (Men’s Rising Star) – Jake Winter (Glenelg)

KC Butler Medal (2nd Grade Men’s) – Harry Cunningham (Glenelg)

Sid Daly Medal (3rd Grade Men’s) – Benno Schlicker (Sturt)

McLeod/Wilson Medal (4th Grade Men’s) – Mark Healey (Glenelg)

SACA Women’s 1st Grade Wicket-keeping Trophy – Angela Treloar (West Torrens)

SACA Women’s 1st Grade Fielding Trophy – Tabatha Saville (Southern District)

Lyn Fullston Medal (2nd Grade Women’s) – Alysha Petherick (Northern Districts)

Premier Cricket Umpire of the Year – Luke Uthenwoldt

Statewide Super Premier Cricket Volunteer of the Year – Harvey Jolly (Southern District)