Select Page

ConsistenT Mennie Crowned State’s Best

South Australia’s dependable speedster Joe Mennie was awarded the 2017-18 Neil Dansie Medal for the second time in three years.

Mennie, who won his first Neil Dansie Medal in 2015-16, polled 140 votes to hold off batsman Callum Ferguson (126 votes) and fast-finishing Nick Winter in third (122).

The 29-year-old paceman was crowned the JLT One-Day Cup Player of the Year as the West End Redbacks’ top wicket-taker of the tournament and claimed another 30 wickets in the JLT Sheffield Shield season on his way to SACA’s highest individual honour.

The fast bowler, originally from Coffs Harbour in New South Wales, made his first-class debut after moving to SA in 2011 in search of more opportunity and has since snared 200 wickets for the State. He earned his Test debut in 2016 off the back of an outstanding 2015-16 Sheffield Shield season in which he finished leading wicket-taker with 51 at 21.21 and has featured in all four of the Redbacks’ final appearances in the past three years.


Joe Mennie proudly displays his second Neil Dansie Medal with the man himself. 

New Zealander Sophie Devine swept the major women’s awards to cap off stellar campaigns in the Women’s National Cricket League and Women’s Big Bash League.

Allrounder Devine scored 342 runs at an average of 57 for the Statewide Super SA Scorpions to win the prestigious Andrea McCauley Trophy by five votes from emerging allrounder Tahlia McGrath. The big-hitting Kiwi was also named the Adelaide Strikers’ WBBL Most Valuable Player. Devine was the team’s equal-leading wicket-taker in WBBL|03 with 17 scalps along with 355 runs and played a vital role in steering the Strikers to their maiden WBBL semi-final.


The Scorpions’ big-hitter Sophie Devine was the winner of the Andrea McCauley trophy.

Fellow international Rashid Khan earned the Strikers’ BBL MVP title after a superb debut Big Bash season. The teenage leg-spinner was the tournament’s top wicket-taker with 18 scalps and had the best economy rate (5.65) of any player to bowl more than four overs.

Winter’s dream start to his first-class career was rewarded with the Barry Jarman Most Improved Trophy as well as the Lord Hampden Trophy after receiving the most votes during the Shield season. The 24-year-old claimed 34 wickets from just five matches including four five-wicket hauls.

Consistent batsman Ferguson added to his growing list of accolades by taking out the one-day and first-class batting awards. The 33-year-old made more than 1000 runs across both formats and was the top Shield runscorer of the regular season.

Young wicketkeeper Harry Nielsen received the Barry “Nugget” Rees Award recognising passion, humility, honesty, integrity, teamwork and respect for the game. Nielsen scored a sparkling century in his Sheffield Shield debut and also earned a Big Bash debut with the Adelaide Strikers.

Harry Nielsen has earned the prestigious Barry “Nugget” Rees Award. 

Tabatha Saville’s breakout summer earned her the WNCL Most Improved award. She made a crucial half-century on debut against Western Australia and contributed 107 runs in four innings.