Select Page

Premier Cricket Stars Shine

Tea Tree Gully and West Torrens secured Premier Cricket’s major 2017-18 titles.

West Torrens clinched the Statewide Super first-grade women’s premiership with a win over Northern Districts in the first game played at the new Karen Rolton Oval, while Tea Tree Gully was too strong for Sturt in the West End first-grade men’s decider at Gliderol Stadium.

It was a huge week for Brooke Harris, who won the Karen Rolton Medal as the competition’s best player and then was named player-of-the-match after scoring 73 and taking four wickets for West Torrens in the grand final.

Harris lifted the Eagles to a total of 204 in the 50-over game after young Northern Districts bowler Darcie Brown dismissed Tahlia McGrath (45) and Lauren Ebsary on consecutive balls to leave Torrens a shaky 4/97.

Ellie Falconer rocked Northern Districts with three early wickets and they were 5/65 before Sam Betts scored an unbeaten 63. But the last three wickets fell for one run, leaving the side 43 runs short of the West Torrens total.


West Torrens celebrates its Premier Cricket Grand Final win. 

Tea Tree Gully, which won the West End Twenty20 Cup in February, dominated the grand final after its bowlers ripped through the young Sturt line-up on the first day.

Sturt slumped to 7/53 before reaching 103 and Tea Tree Gully secured the first-innings win for the loss of four wickets and then stretched the lead to 213 runs on Sunday. Sturt was 5/73 in its second innings when it accepted an outright win was out of reach.

Opening bowler Ben Atkinson won the David Hookes Medal after sparking Sturt’s collapse with two wickets in his first two overs and finishing with 3/26 from 13.5 overs. Adam Somerfield (3/16), Ben Hutchinson (2/33) and Brad Evans (1/10) completed the demolition in 46.5 overs.

Patrick Page jnr (40), Travis Head (35) and Tim Davey (76) steered their side into the lead, Davey smashing seven sixes in his 57-ball knock. Brad Evans finished unbeaten on 66.

West Torrens’ Kelvin Smith and Woodville’s Conor McInerney tied for the 60th Bradman Medal, awarded to the best men’s first-grade player as voted by the umpires. 

The winners received 22 votes, just one vote ahead of Sam Raphael (Adelaide) and Page jnr (Tea Tree Gully), and two clear of Nick Benton (Port Adelaide) and Tom Andrews (Woodville).

McInerney was Woodville’s leading runscorer, with 744 at an average of 57.2 including three centuries and four 50s. Smith was leading runscorer for West Torrens with 646 runs from 15 innings at an average of 53.8.

Karen Rolton Medallist Harris had an outstanding season with bat and ball, scoring 175 first-grade runs at an average of 43.75 and taking 14 wickets at 11.7. Harris won with 25 votes, just one vote ahead of Northern Districts captain Tegan McPharlin and four votes clear of fellow Eagle, Jess Joseph.

Tea Tree Gully players show off their Premier Cricket spoils after dominating the Grand Final match. 

2017-18 West End Premier Cricket Men’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three-person panel:

Sam Raphael (Adelaide, captain), Conor McInerney (Woodville), Harry Nielsen (Woodville), Benjamin Dougall (East Torrens), Patrick Page jnr (Tea Tree Gully), Tom Plant (Glenelg), Kelvin Smith (West Torrens), Tom Andrews (Woodville), Luke Robins (East Torrens), Tom O’Connell (Sturt), Benjamin Turley (Woodville), Nicholas Patterson (Adelaide).

Men’s Coach of the Year – Ben Cameron (Sturt).

2017-18 Statewide Super Premier Cricket Women’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three-person panel:

Jess Joseph (West Torrens, captain), Eliza Doddridge (Kensington), Brooke Harris (West Torrens), Stacey Oates (Sturt), Tegan McPharlin (Northern Districts), Rachel Church (Kensington), Annie O’Neil (Sturt), Dani Ransley (Sturt), Sarah Lowe (Kensington), Eliza Bartlett (Sturt), Neisha Iles (Northern Districts), Stephanie Beazleigh (Northern Districts).

Women’s Coach of the Year – Darius Wyatt (Sturt).