Select Page

Saluting SACA’s 50 year Memberships

There have been many stunning half-centuries at Adelaide Oval over the years but those reached by South Australian Cricket Association members also have been deservedly recognised.

SACA hosted a three-course luncheon to salute members of 50-plus years in the Ian McLachlan Room at Adelaide Oval on Thursday 8 February. The event coincided with day one of South Australia’s Sheffield Shield clash with Victoria.

Ten new 50-year members and 22 who have reached the remarkable milestone of 65 years of membership have been honoured, 19 of them at the lunch to receive their certificates. Over 250 50-year members and their guests enjoyed the day, with only a few no-shows because of the hot weather.

SACA president Andrew Sinclair spoke at the event, highlighting what has been a very successful summer. As an establishment that holds tradition in high regard, Sinclair tipped his cap to the value and experience these collective years bring to the SACA membership.

Andrew Sinclair addresses the distinguished group of SACA Members.

SACA Members recognised for 50 and 65-year membership

Name Member years
Dr Peter Barnes 50
Dr Michael Hawkes 50
Mr John Hocking 50
Mr John Laurie 50
Mr Trevor Lloyd 50
Mr John McGowan 50
Dr John O’Loughlin 50
Mr Warwick Rowe 50
Dr John Sangster 50
Mr John Wilkinson 50
Dr Philip Allen 65
Dr Andrew Black 65
Dr Robert Black 65
Dr Richard Burnell 65
Dr Ian Buttfield 65
Dr John Cox 65
Rt Rev Bishop Ian George 65
Mr Robert Homburg 65
Mr William Johnson 65
Mr John Johnston 65
Mr Alexander Johnston 65
Prof David Lines 65
Mr Brenton Mayfield 65
Mr David Pennells 65
Dr John Radcliffe 65
Mr David Rivaz 65
Mr Robert Rundle 65
Mr John Russell 65
Mr Robert Seaman 65
Mr Douglas Stott 65
Mr Douglas Wilson 65
Mr Richard Woolcock 65